Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

We sponsor meetings and events for the public and League members

Date & Time        Place        Description
Tuesday, August 8, 2017
 
  Primary Election Day.
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
4:00-6:00pm
Campus of Central Michigan University Voter Registration at Central Michigan University. Voter Registration at Central Michigan University as part of Get Acquainted Day.
Saturday, September 9, 2017
10am-3pm
Veterans Memorial Library Know Your Voting Rights. A study of the suffrage movement in the United States and the importance of the 1965 Voting Rights Act. We will also look at voting rights in Mount Pleasant and develop practical steps our community can take to ensure that all citizens can register and vote.

For more information see: Voting Rights

Tuesday, September 19, 2017
7:00 pm
Veterans Memorial Library Annex Connecting with Congress. Staffers from the offices of our Washington legislators will be here to talk with us about ways to communicate with members of Congress.

For more information see: Connecting with Congress

Tuesday, September 26, 2017
 
Mid-Michigan Community College (Mt. Pleasant campus) Voter Registration. Voter registration will take place at Mid-Michigan Community College in Mt. Pleasant on this National Voter Registration Day.
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
 
  Last Day to Register to Vote. Registration at the Secretary of State office or the county clerk's office.
Thursday, October 12, 2017
noon
Art Reach Lunch and Learn. This Lunch and Learn event will focus on the new zoning rules that will go into effect in Mt. Pleasant. Jacob Kain (City Planner) will be there to answer your questions.
Tuesday, October 17, 2017
7:00 pm
City Hall City Commission Candidate Forum. Candidates for City Commission will participate in a candidate forum. Questions will be taken from audience members.
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
 
Local polling precincts Election Day.
Thursday, November 9, 2017
7:00pm
Immanuel Lutheran Church
320 S Bradley St, Mt Pleasant, MI 48858
General Membership Meeting. Our membership will have an opportunity to discuss the goals and plans of our local league.
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
7:00-8:00pm
St. John's Episcopal Church LWVMPA Social Gathering. This will be an opportunity for League members to gather and celebrate the past year and the year ahead.
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Noon
Art Reach of Mid-Michigan
111 E Broadway St, Mt Pleasant, MI 48858
Lunch and Learn with Corey Friedrich. This Lunch and Learn event will provide an opportunity to hear about the good things the library is doing in our community and what is coming in 2018.
Thursday, June 28, 2018-Sunday, July 1, 2018
 
Hilton Chicago LWVUS Convention.